It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

Lay on the cheese

on April 21, 2012

We interrupt our regular programming to bring you this breaking weekend news – a vegan recipe for nacho cheese that actually TASTES like nacho cheese (and is Paleo/Primal at the same time). If you’ve read our “Menu” page you know that for allergy/autoimmune reasons dairy is off-limits to me now. I’m constantly on the prowl for recipes that taste cheesy and stumbled upon this little gem on one of my new favorite blogs, A Blog About Love. Danny and Mara, the writers of the blog, have a sister-in-law who has a blog all about vegan recipes and her most recent one is for Nacho Cheese. Kids, you don’t even know how complete my life now feels after discovering this recipe. I can once again have cheesy nachos and actually feel good afterwards! It’s SUPER easy to make and I usually have the items called for around the house. If you have a dairy intolerance (or if you just want to try something new on your nachos) you should totally try it out.

Vegan Nacho Cheese

1 c. soaked cashews ( I usually soak mine for 20 – 30 minutes)

1/2 c. red bell pepper (I use one medium-sized pepper)

2 TBSP. olive oil

2 TBSP. water

1 1/2 TBSP lemon juice

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. onion powder

1/4 tsp. turmeric

Blend (or stick it in your food processor)

Pour over a large pile o’ tortilla chips, add some salsa (and any other fixin’s you like on your nachos), and enjoy!

Please excuse the photo quality, I took this pic with my phone as I was too ravenous to hunt my camera down. Also note that technically, corn and black beans are not Paleo/Primal, but hey, who’s perfect?

And one more thing while you’re out gathering supplies for your nachos – run, don’t walk, to the freezer aisle and pick yourself up some of this:

Pic also taken with phone. This is literally the most amazing dairy-free ice cream known to man. Steve had to run into a store to return something so this guy and I shared some serious one on one time in the car while we waited. The base is coconut milk and they have 6 or 7 different flavors, my favs being the one pictured (Chocolate Walnut Brownie) and Chocolate Peanut Butter. It’s dairy free, gluten-free, low glycemic, and vegan, and is the perfect weekend treat.

We hope that your weekend is amazing! We’re going to do some major hiking in these parts since the weather is supposed to be beautiful. See you Monday!

2 responses to “Lay on the cheese

  1. Karen (Soulier) Bourne says:

    YUM! I didn’t know you had to go dairy free. I have to eat gluten free, so I can understand when a food makes you feel like all is right with the world again

    • Brittany says:

      Amen sister. In addition to dairy I also have a gluten intolerance and egg allergy, so anything I can find that is a good substitute is awesome. My fav gluten free flour is almond flour. Have you tried it?

What do you think?

