It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

Hawaii Five-0 Negative

on May 1, 2012

Hi Kids! It’s so great to be back in the land of the living. It was a little touch-and-go there for a minute, but I somehow managed to survive with lots of snuggle time with my Sawyer pup, Peeps (yes, I’m talking about the marshmallow deliciousness that comes about around Easter, and lots of TLC from the hubs. While lying in bed for a week straight I got to thinking about warm weather and tropical vacations, lying on the beach, listening to the ocean and if you are like me, when you think of paradise it probably looks something a little like this:

Or this:

But this post is gonna totally blow your mind because though this story is full of all of those lovely things like sandy beaches and pina coladas, it also has something in it that is tragic, but hopeful and inspiring!

A couple of weeks ago Brittany and I had the wonderful opportunity of attending a luncheon for the American Red Cross. I set up the drive at work and one of the cool things that I get to do is recruit my co-workers to donate much needed blood. We had a delicious lunch complete with chocolate lava cake at the end for dessert, yummy!

As we sat there munching on our delicious food we were pleased to hear from a gal named Shelli Eldredge who’s honeymoon to Hawaii resulted in her nearly loosing her life. She was involved in a moped accident that broke over 50 bones in her body, fractured her skull, snapped her spine and left her in a coma for over a month. The amazing part of the story was that she awoke from the coma and could speak! All this after her husband was urged to take her off of life support. Shelli defied the odds; what an amazing lady.

This made me think about what “defying the odds” really means. Is it climbing up the corporate ladder and ending up as the CEO of a company when nobody thought you could do it? Or actually finishing that marathon that you have been training for months for? Maybe it’s raising a healthy and happy child whom you were told at birth wouldn’t make it or would have such and such problems. Though I firmly believe that defying the odds sometimes involves miracles, I don’t think that it always involves life-changing events or moments. I think defying the odds is all about the personal strength that each one of us has within ourselves. It’s having the courage to stand up for something that we believe in. It’s mustering up all of the courage and strength that you possess to start that dream of opening a business or climbing Mt. Everest. It’s believing that you can do anything. I look at people like Shelli and think to myself “what have I got to lose”? Like everyone I have plenty of really really good times and my fair share of difficult times, but I can’t feel anything BUT grateful when I look at everything that I have. My family, friends, job, faith… these are the tools that I use to defy my own odds on a daily basis.

I’m grateful for Shelli’s example of inner strength and faith and I find it inspiring.

What about you; what does “defying the odds” mean to you. Have you ever gathered all your courage to start something new or overcome an obstacle that you thought you never would? What pushed you forward or helped you through?

One response to “Hawaii Five-0 Negative

  1. Cathy says:

    Book um’ Danno…. j/k… thank you for the post. A deep thinker…I will have to ponder:)

What do you think?

