It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

Not your Grandma’s Yoga Class

on May 3, 2012

My hubby’s work started something really cool a couple of weeks ago… a yoga class every Wednesday night. If you’re like me yoga conjures up images of people standing in tree poses, wearing ultra comfy clothing. I’ve even been to a few yoga classes that take place in a very warm room and they felt amazing.The new class that the hubs and I joined is a Kundalini Yoga class and it is Kunda-kicking my trash like whoa! You see, we have this amazingly kind and lovely grandmother-type leading the class so in our first session I thought to myself “this is going to be the easiest 90 minutes of my day”. WRONG! She lured us in with her sweetness and went easy on us the first class, and then last night she brought out the big guns.

Kundalini yoga encompasses practicing spiritual, mental and physical self-discipline. You do poses. You chant. You meditate. And sometimes you perform moves that make your body shake and cause you to question whether or not you have ever worked out in your entire life. Last night’s class was all about core work and I learned that mine is in bad shape! We had to hold a pose for a minute-and-a-half and I couldn’t make it past 10 seconds. It was a very sad situation. I’m not positive but I’m pretty sure my hubby was looking at me out of the corner of his eye and thinking to himself “who’s that crazy lady sitting next to me with absolutely no ab strength?” Needless to say, it was embarrassing.

You would be surprised how difficult it is to practice mental self-discipline and not let your mind wander and just sit still. If you are like me I’m usually always thinking of the NEXT thing… what am I going to make for dinner when I get home from work? Did I remember to respond to that one email about that one thing? What treats am I going to get for my Sunday school class? The thoughts never leave my head so practicing once-a-week to still my mind is difficult for me, but something that I definitely need.

All-in-all I am really enjoying this class and I know that with patience and practice I will be rockin’ the core strength and mind stillness in no time!

Have you ever tried a class before and felt that you were way over your head, but pushed through because you knew it would be good for you in the end? Please share and give me some motivation to continue through my new class!

What do you think?

