It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

Aren’t Moms the BEST?!

on May 8, 2012

Top o’ the Tuesday kids! This week is a special week for us here at Twinderful Life (and hopefully for everyone else that lives in the good ol’ U.S. of A.) because it is the week leading up to Mother’s Day. Aren’t Moms the BEST?! We think so and for the rest of the week we will be posting about all things mom.

Today I just wanted to share some quick sentiments about the two moms that I have in my life – my mother and my mother-in-law – the most incredible women I know.

My Mother

My mom is such an incredible woman. She has done/sacrificed SO much in her life for her children. Although I don’t know specifically what they are (because she has never complained), I’m sure that she has put countless hopes and dreams on the back burner to raise us. I am ever in awe at how she found the energy to raise twins as a single parent and work full-time as a registered nurse. Growing up, she knew just what to say when I was feeling sad or scared and she always made me feel like I could do anything I set my mind to. When I was 6 years old she had two very serious back surgeries where she had to endure excruciating pain and regain the ability to walk. She had a stroke when I was 16 years old and still taught me how to drive (a little scary – but this is a story for another time). She has persevered through everything that life has thrown at her. She is beautiful and full of strength. I look up to her more than she knows.

My Mother-in-Law

I am one of those lucky women to have a mother-in-law that I absolutely adore! We are alike in so many ways – so much so that sometimes I wonder if she and my own mother made a pact in Heaven that one would be the mother who raised me and the other would be my “second mom.” I admire her for many of the same traits found in my own mother. She also worked full-time while raising her children. She put her master’s degree on hold when, on the first day of class, she found out that my husband (then 8 years old) had Pediatric Acute Myelocitic Leukemia. They treated it and he was in remission for a year, and then it came back. She faced the possibility of losing her only son and never lost her faith. He went in to remission again and has been cancer free ever since! As if that weren’t enough, a couple of years later she lost her husband in a plane crash and raised her children on her own until adulthood. She has every reason to be angry, depressed, and “done” with life, but instead she has chosen to learn from these experiences and is using them to bless others (we’ll talk more about this in detail in another post). She is one of the most optimistic and loving women that I know – what an example!

So there you have it. The two moms in my life that have blessed me so much – that I feel privileged to belong to. I can only hope to be half the mom to my children that these moms have been to me. I love you Mom and Carrie!

What about you? Who are the special “moms” in your life? What are the attributes that you most revere in these women? We’d love to hear all about it.

4 responses to “Aren’t Moms the BEST?!

  1. Karen (Soulier) Bourne says:

    Wonderful tributes to both of your moms! I am also a lucky woman to love and adore my mother-in-law.

  2. Cathy says:

    Miss Brittany you have been an honor and a priviledge to raise! I thank my Father -in-Heaven everyday for sending me down you and your sister Breanna. If all my daughters were like you and your sis God could send me octuplets for that matter… it would be a challenge but oh so well worth it! I love you baby girl! You make life worth while:)

What do you think?

