It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

Aren’t Moms the BEST?! Take 2

on May 9, 2012

See that beautiful lady up there? Ya, that’s my Momma and she’s kind of a big deal (oh, and my Dad is there too, but today we’re focusing on Mom, Dad will get his turn later). My Mom is hands down the most amazing, loving, awesome, smart, funny and beautiful woman I know. She has the best personality and loves to be  super goofy. Since Brittany already gave you a little background about how she single-handedly raised twins as a single parent until we were 9 while working as a registered nurse I’m going to talk a little bit more about the Top 10 things that I love the most about her which are not limited to the list below, but if I didn’t stop somewhere I would still be at the computer years from now writing on this same post. I give you Exhibit A:

1. I love my mom’s laugh. It’s not too boisterous or loud but it’s one of those laughs that you hear and you can’t help but smile.

2. She loves jewelry and has fantastic taste in fashion and always gifts her children and friends the coolest stuff.

3. When I feel like my world is falling apart and I just want to roll over and die she knows just what to say to bring me out of the doldrums and back into the sunshine. I don’t know how she does it, but I can only hope that I can be like that for my children.

4. She LOVES to have fun. Her and my Dad are OBSESSED with Disneyland. No joke, they have made the trip twice a year for as long as I can remember. She is going to have some lucky grandkids who I know will adore her childish side.

5. She brought Britt and me up listening to all kinds of music and thanks to her I can wow my friends with my musical repertoire. Seriously, there are very few songs from the 70’s – 90’s that I don’t know. You know the game Cranium? Well, let’s just say that when Mom, Britt and I are on a team, we rock the Humdinger category like nobody’s bizznatch! It drives all of our husbands crazy!

6. I love my Mom’s fearlessness. If she wants something she is not afraid to put in the work to get it. She’s a hard worker and will do anything for her kids.

7. She loves to sing at the top her lungs anywhere and everywhere and makes up goofy and ridiculously funny lyrics to any song. She has an AMAZING voice. It’s seriously the most beautiful voice I have heard, hands down.

8. This used to bug me when I was just a little wee one, but she has her own definition of what “clean” means. I didn’t appreciate it when I was younger and having to do chores over again if I didn’t do it right the first time, but now that I’m all grown up (ha!) I’m so grateful that she taught me how to clean thoroughly and properly. Not only has it made an impact on my health, but I feel at peace in a sparkling abode. She always used to say (in regards to cleaning AND other things) that “if it’s worth doing, then it’s worth overdoing”. Needless to say that I got really good at rolling my eyes. 🙂

9. She is my biggest cheerleader. I know that she would do anything to help me be successful and she is always praising me for a job well done.

10. She makes the most delicious coleslaw EVER. I’m not even kidding you about this. My Mom isn’t huge on cooking (my Dad was the cook in our family growing up and Mom was the baker) but when it comes to coleslaw I swear it gets better every.single.time. I loath every other coleslaw except Mom’s. I swear she makes it with extra love or something.

There you have it, folks; the best Mom in the WHOLE WIDE WORLD! I just love her to pieces and feel so blessed to be her daughter and if I can somehow manage to be half the woman and mother that she is then I’ll consider myself ultra successful.

Exhibit B

My Mother-in-law is also an amazing woman in her own right. How she raised 7 kids and worked full-time during most of those years I will never understand and I just feel exhausted when I think about it. Here’s my top 10 list of things that I love about her:

1. She is a FANTASTIC cook! Seriously the woman can pull anything out of the fridge or pantry and make it delicious.

2. She raised awesome children, my husband being one of them (obviously). She taught him how to cook, clean, sew and mend, iron and a bunch of other useful things. My husband came trained and for that I will forever be grateful.

3. She is the first to raise her hand if anyone is in need of service. She is a mother to many and loves unconditionally those she serves.

4. She’s silly and has an infectious laugh.

5. She is a hard worker and I NEVER see her sit down and relax. If she’s not cooking dinner, cleaning or serving in a church calling then she’s cooking dinner for a sick friend/neighbor or sewing beautiful dresses for her granddaughters.

6. She always tries to see the best in people even when they aren’t doing the nicest things. If I could learn one thing from her, it would be how to do this.

7. She is an expert in patience and not many things rattle her.

8. She never forgets a birthday and that’s saying something since she not only has 7 kids, but their spouses and 17 grandchildren.

9. She makes world-famous cinnamon roles that are to.die.for. (okay, maybe they aren’t world-famous, but all the teachers at the high school where her kids grew up were known to request them and looked forward to them every year).

10. She gives the best hugs. I may be a good 3 heads taller than her, but that lady knows how to give a good squeeze.

I am truly blessed to have two of the best moms on the planet!

Do you think you could make a “Top 10” list for your Mom or would you write a novel before you finished? I’m telling you, it’s not easy. We would love to hear about your favorite things that  you love about your mom. Please share in the comments below.

2 responses to “Aren’t Moms the BEST?! Take 2

  1. Cathy says:

    Wow Bree…. I am speechless. Thank you for those sweet compliments. You and your sis are well on your way to becoming magnificient women in your own rights. You both have accomplished so much in your short years here on earth and that in itself is amazing. I am most proud of how you both love the Lord and make him the center of your life… you both are inspirations to me! The bightness and shine that illuminate from your aura when you or your sis walk into a room is breathtaking. Like I commented on your sissy’s blog last night…. if I could of had octuplets of girls like my baby girl I would of had them proudly… it would of been insane but well worth every bit of that insanity. Oh how you make the world go around for me…both of you! I love you forever and for always my twintastic girls:) kisses

What do you think?

