It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

Prayers for Mother’s Day

on May 11, 2012

I know, that you don’t usually see two posts from us in one day, but I had to tell you about something that you might be able to help out with.

I was at a Scouting meeting last night when I heard the most tragic story – one that will make you cherish your mom and family members a little bit more this Mother’s Day. One of the committee members that I work with told me that her nephew’s wife (Alice Hansen) had just given birth last Wednesday to their third child, only to contract Strep A Toxic Shock shortly thereafter. She fought for her life but was unable to beat it and passed away a week later (Wednesday – just two days ago) leaving her husband with three children, one who is only a week old. He just graduated with his MBA and does not have a job yet and is struggling to face the reality that his wife will not be here physically to help raise their children.

from honeybearlane.com

Aren’t they such a beautiful family? I can’t even imagine what he and his children are going through. I grieve with them and at the same time am so thankful for the knowledge that I have that this life is not the end and that Alice will be reunited with her husband and children again someday. If you’d like to learn more about this please click here.

When I heard the story, I wanted to help and stumbled upon this post by Mandi over at Vintage Revivals blog. She linked to this post written by Alice’s sister-in-law where you can donate to help this family.

Whether or not a donation is something you can do right now, please at least remember to include this family in your prayers as they will be grieving the loss of a wife and mother this Mother’s Day. I know that I’ll be squeezing my moms and family members EXTRA tight!

One response to “Prayers for Mother’s Day

  1. Karen (Soulier) Bourne says:

    Oh, so sad. My heart goes out to that dear husband and his children. I know he will be strengthened, but that doesn’t make it easier for him to go through it. Our life is such a gift.

What do you think?

