It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

Sometimes a girl’s gotta have her pizza…

on June 13, 2012

Happy Hump Day Everyone!  We are halfway to the weekend and I am LOVING it!

We were sitting at lunch yesterday when Bre let me try a bite of he homemade pizza from dinner the night before. I took a few chews and suddenly found myself in the midst of heaven. It was AMAZING! I decided right then and there that I was going to make some homemade pizza of my own when I got home from work. Of course, I would have to be creative and make a pie sans the gluten and dairy that Bre’s delish pizza possessed, and so this fabulous recipe was born!

First, I consulted one of my favorite gluten-free blogs, Elana’s Pantry. I searched for a gluten-free pizza crust recipe and found this little gem:

A video of one of Elana’s fans making her recipe. I followed it, added some changes of my own, and came of with this awesomesauce recipe:

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Egg-free Pizza

Crust (Elana’s original recipe with some changes of my own)
1 1/2 c. blanched almond flour
1/4 tsp. sea salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 TBSP grapeseed oil
1 TBSP golden flaxseed meal mixed with 3 TBSP warm water (and then let it sit for 1 minute)
1 TBSP minced garlic
1 tsp. pizza seasoning (or any herbs that you fancy)

Mix all ingredients together and then flatten into a 9 x 13 inch baking dish that has been coated with Earth Balance Vegan Butter. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes, or until the crust starts to get slighty golden. Pull it out, add your toppings, and put it in for another 8 – 10 minutes until the cheese (or cheese substitute) is ooey gooey and melty.

Toppings
Add whatever toppings float your boat. For the pizza pictured below I did half for me and half for my husband (who can have dairy and loves his cheese). On my half I put:

  • pizza sauce (I used Prego’s Roasted Garlic & Herb)
  • spinach and small bell peppers (minced finely in my food processor)
  • pepperoni
  • lean spicy turkey suasage
  • Daiya cheddar style shreds
  • diced jalepenos ( I love me my spice)
  • crushed red pepper
  • Durango Hickory Smoked Salt (local buy at Harmon’s. I just use a sprinkle; this stuff is like crack and every time I smell it I have this uncontrollable urge to go sit by a campfire)

His half (he’s a simple kind of guy):

  • pizza sauce
  • pepperoni
  • mozerella
  • Durango hickory smoked sea salt

And there you have it, a fabulous pizza to please all! And now for the fun part – a pic!

 

Have a FANTASTIC day!

What do you think?

