It's a Twinderful Life

Looking For the Silver Lining in All of Life's Clouds

expect the unexpected.

on November 14, 2012

It’s so nice to chat with ya’ll (yes, that just happened) on this lovely Wednesday. I hope your week is going well!

We’ve been having some unexpected experiences here at Twinderful Life headquarters lately that I’d like to share. Some have been fun. Some have been not so fun. But, all in all, I’m feeling very grateful. I think it’s easy to forget sometimes that the variety of life is what makes it interesting. We can’t appreciate the fun times when we don’t experience the tough times, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. So, my goal for the month (along with counting the overwhelming number of my blessings) is to expect the unexpected. Feel free to join me.

  • We had a MAJOR snowstorm here in Salt Lake City this last weekend! We haven’t had a snowstorm like that before Thanksgiving for a few years, and we loved every minute of it. We hearted this unexpected (and yes, I’m using unexpected as a noun in that sentence. unexpected.). I can neither confirm nor deny that Christmas decorations were put up to celebrate…
  • A few weeks ago at Breanna’s ultrasound for Little Girl we found out that Little Girl is very stubborn and she wouldn’t roll over so that the doctor could take a look at her heart. Bre tried everything. Jumping jacks, walking around, and wiggling her belly, all to no avail. We had our suspicions that we had a Stubborn Suzie on our hands but we didn’t expect for her to stay in the exact same spot the entire ultrasound. I can’t wait to watch this stubborn streak show as she gets older and more independent. She’s going to be SO sassy…I can just feel it!
  • Whilst bending over (slightly, mind you) to take my delicious almond flour biscuits out of the oven on Saturday morning my two herniated discs decided to say howdy hey in a BIG way. I spent the rest of the weekend and the beginning of the work week flat on my back and at my chiropractor’s office. I haven’t had any problems with my back for a year and a half, so this was definitely unexpected. In the end, though, it made me even more grateful that my back functions pretty well most of the time.
  • In a similar vein, we always worried that when Bre was pregnant she would have major back pain because of her 5 (yes, I said 5…poor girl) herniated discs. But guess what. She’s been perfectly normal so far! Unexpected? You know it.
  • My sweet hubby and I aren’t having the easiest time starting our family. We’ve been trying for several months without success. Should I feel depressed and angry and hopeless? I have every right to. Do I? Not one iota! And I am BEYOND grateful for this. Through the process I have had such a feeling of peace and comfort and I KNOW that things in this area of our life will all work out in the end. I know that this feeling is always a possibility to embrace but I never expected it to happen so easily. I am fantastically grateful for this unexpected (again, as a noun).

So there you have it, folks. The unexpected is constantly happening to us and all around us. Let’s try to embrace it and live in each moment that we have. Life is better that way…promise.

10 responses to “expect the unexpected.

  1. hilary says:

    I have a pretty strong belief that babies come when they’re supposed to.
    Enjoy the process… average time is 9 months. It took us 3 with paige. 🙂
    And, u guys are welcome to come here, no snow! 🙂 it was 82 today.
    Also, babies hiding their heart is normal, now she just gets another ultasound. Horay!

  2. Karen (Soulier) Bourne says:

    Loved your thoughts. Thanks for sharing. So sorry to hear your back is hurting you again.

  3. Cathy says:

    Loved the insight Britt… sometimes it is hard to except the unexpected but my belief is like yours to really enjoy all of life both expected and unexpected. God is with us on both occasions and yes through His Son our Elder Brother if we let Him… will pick us up off the floor and brush off the dirt and ever so lovingly says…”I know you can do this.” Knowing my Father and Brother believe and know I can do it gives me hope that both highs and lows of life can be endured and even strengthen me for the next expected and unexpected spices of life. Thank you Britt…I so very much thank my dear Father in Heaven for my twinderful duo:)

  4. Kate says:

    Brittany, I just love you! So grateful to have you for a sister! You are the best example of being optimistic and positive no matter the circumstances. You are amazing! Love you!

  5. chelseysharp says:

    Just what I needed to hear today! Beautifully stated. Miss you.

What do you think?

